23: My Time to be Nostalgic

Pretty hard to believe another year has gone by, and I’ve celebrated another birthday. Life really has a way of just creeping up and surprising you, doesn’t it?

This time last year, I was still working weekend mornings and middays. I hadn’t quite figured out exactly who I was here in Iowa – I was pretty miserable, still. I can say this truly has been the most tumultuous year yet – but it’s been one full of triumphs and overcoming more than I could’ve ever imagined.

I feel like I’ve learned more in the past 365+ days than I ever have before. I have built great relationships with people in Iowa – some I know are friends for life. I think that almost surprised me, as I wasn’t quite expecting to build such close relationships. Iowa will never be home to me, but the friends I’ve made here have made it feel as good as it can be.

If anything, living here has humbled me to no end. It’s taught me what I can be, and who I can become. I’ve learned I can bear the bitter cold, I can live among people who are very different than I am, I’ve learned to listen more than talk (even though I still talk a lot), I’ve learned to embrace change and roll with it, and I’ve learned the life you planned is hardly ever the life you lead. But it’s all right.

It somehow always is.

Cheers to 23.

 

One response to “23: My Time to be Nostalgic

  1. You go, girl! Iowa is not the easiest place for anyone to live, and I’m happy to see you succeeding so well!

Leave a Reply

